Chamber Music Program

Explore this Section

KSYO Chamber Music Program

Directed by Dr. Wesley Baldwin

 

Students will have an opportunity to participate in a small ensemble with their peers, learn about and develop skills in rehearsing chamber music, receive regular coaching, and have performance opportunities organized by the KSYO.

Eligibility

Open by audition to:
  • students who are entering the seventh grade or above
  • students who have three years of experience playing in an orchestra (either School or KSYO)
  • priority will be given to students auditioning/enrolled in the KSYO (Chamber Orchestra and Youth Orchestra) for the current season
  • priority will be given to students who sign up for the full year of the Chamber Music Program

When:

Ensembles will rehearse weekly on either Tuesday or Thursday evening. Advanced ensembles additionally commit to weekly rehearsals on their own. Additional rehearsals to prepare for the Winter and Spring Recitals may be added at the Chamber Music Program director’s request.

Where:

Chamber Music rehearsals will be held at the Emporium Center for the 2020-2021 season!

How To Audition:

Students who sign up for a KSYO audition may sign up for Chamber Music Program at the same time. Please indicate that you would like your audition recorded for consideration of placement in the Chamber Music Program when asked. Students who are not auditioning for a Knoxville Symphony Youth Orchestra placement may use the link below and indicated Chamber Music Program only.

Sign Up to Audition – Auditions are closed for the 2020-2021 season
Teacher reference form:

The application form will include a request for Private Teacher or Ensemble Director name and email address. A teacher reference form will be emailed directly to teachers based on this information. Please have this information ready when completing the application form.

Request/Non-request:

Students may indicated on the application colleagues with whom they would like to be placed. Students may also list colleagues with whom they do not work well. The Chamber Music Program director will take these requests and non-requests into account when making ensemble placements as ensemble structure allows.

Cost:

For students enrolled in KSYO, a fee of $150.00 for the 2020-2021 season applies for students who audition and are accepted to the KSYO Chamber Music Program.

For students not enrolled in KSYO, a fee of $400.00 for the 2020-2021 season applies for students who audition and are accepted to the KSYO Chamber Music Program.

2020 Rehearsal Schedule:

Tuesday, September 22 – Rehearsals

Thursday, September 24 – Rehearsals

Tuesday, September 29 – Rehearsals

Thursday, October 1 – Rehearsals

Tuesday, October 6 – Rehearsals

Thursday, October 8 – Rehearsals

Tuesday, October 13 – No Rehearsals, Knox County Fall Break

Thursday, October 15 – No Rehearsals, Knox County Fall Break

Tuesday, October 20 – Rehearsals

Thursday, October 22 – Rehearsals

Tuesday, October 27 – Rehearsals

Thursday, October 29 – Rehearsals

Tuesday, November 3 – Rehearsals

Thursday, November 5 – Rehearsals

Tuesday, November 10 – Rehearsals

Thursday, November 12 – Rehearsals

Tuesday, November 17 – Rehearsals

Thursday, November 19 – Rehearsals

Tuesday, November 24 – No Rehearsal, Thanksgiving

Thursday, November 26 – No Rehearsal, Thanksgiving

Tuesday, December 1 – Rehearsals

Thursday, December 3 – Rehearsals

Monday, December 7 – Live Stream Winter Recital (Schedule TBD)

Questions? Contact the Director of Education & Community Partnerships.

Chamber Music Program Schedule

  • Important Dates

    Rehearsal dates to be announced!